Twenty-one Gators entered for national championships

Meet Central | Schedule | live streaming

IRVINE, California — Twenty-one past and current Gators will compete at the 2022 Phillips 66 National Championships, being held July 26-30 at the William Woollett Jr. Aquatic Center in Irvine, California.

The US National Championships return to California for the first time since 2019.

Nine Gators will compete for the men. Bobby Finke and Kieran Smith, who both competed in last month’s FINA World Championships in Budapest, Hungary, will swim at several events over the five days. Finke took two medals in Budapest and set the American record in both the 800m free and 1500m free, while Smith won gold in the 4 x 200m free relay. Mason Laur, Julian SmithNicholas Caruso, Wesley Hyde, Jack VanDeusen, Dillon Hillis, Tyler Watson and Peter Bretzman Round out the rest of the Gator men, which will see seven men compete tomorrow on opening day.

Building on the World Championship Shows, Volunteer Coach Katie Ledecky and former Alligator Natalie Hinds will lead a group of current Alligators including Anna Auld, Amanda Ray, Allie Piccirillo, Talia Bates, Katie Mack, Tylor Mathieu, Elise Bauer, Lea DeGeorgeand Kathleen Goldling in California. The Florida women will have swimmers in 12 events, including four in both the 100m free and 800m free.

All runs, results and information can be found at Meet Central.

Applicant athletes:

1. Amanda Ray fly 200m
2. Allie Piccirillo fly 200m
3. Natalie Hinds 100m free, 200m free
4. Katie Ledecky 100m free, 800m free, 200m free, 400m IM
5. Talia Bates 100m free, 200m free, 200m back, 100m fly, 100m back, 50m free
6. Katie Mack 100m free, 50m free
7. Tylor Mathieu 800m free, 200m free, 400m fly, 1500m free,
8th. Elise Bauer 800m free, 400m fly, 1500m free
9. Lea DeGeorge 800m free, 1500m free
10 Kathleen Goldling 200m free, 400m IM, 400m fly, 200m IM
11. Anna Auld 800 m free, 400 m IM, 1500 m free

1. Mason Laur 200m fly, 400m IM, 200m IM
2. Julian Smith 100m free, 200m breaststroke, 100m breaststroke, 200m IM, 50m free
3. Nicholas Caruso 1500m free, 400m free, 800m free
4. Wesley Hyde 1500m free, 800m free
5. Jack VanDeusen 1500 m free, 400 m IM, 400 m free, 800 m free
6. Dillon Hillis 200m breaststroke, 100m breaststroke, 200m IM
7. Peter Bretzman 200m breaststroke, 400m IM
8th. Bobby Finke 1500 m free, 400 m IM, 400 m free, 800 m free
9. Kieran Smith 800m free, 200m free, 400m IM, 400m free, 200m IM, 800m free
10 Tyler Watson 1500m free, 400m free, 800m free

Time schedule:

Prelims: Tuesday, July 26 – 12 p.m. ET


  • Women 200 fly, men 200 fly, women 100 free, men 100 free, women 800 free, men 1500 free

Tuesday Distance Events: Tuesday, July 26 – 12 p.m. ET

  • Women 800 free, men 1500 free

Finals: Tuesday, July 26 – 8pm ET

  • Women 200 fly (final), Men 200 fly (final), Women 100 free (final), Men 100 free (final), Women 800 free (final), Men 1500 free (final)

Prelims: Wednesday, July 27 – 12 p.m. ET

  • Women 200 free, men 200 free, women 200 chest, men 200 chest, women 200 back, men 200 back

Finals: Wednesday, July 27 – 8 p.m. ET

  • Ladies 200 free (finals), Men 200 free (finals), Ladies 200 breaststroke (finals), Men 200 breaststroke (finals), Ladies 200 backstroke (finals), Men 200 backstroke (finals)

Prelims: Thursday, July 28 – 12 p.m. ET

  • Women 400 IM, men 400 IM, women 100 bow tie, men 100 bow tie

Finals: Thursday, July 28 – 8pm ET

  • Women 400 IM (Finals), Men 400 IM (Finals), Women 100 Fly (Finals), Men 100 Fly (Finals)

Prelims: Friday, July 29 – 12 p.m. ET

  • Women’s 400 free, men’s 400 free, women’s 100 chest, men’s 100 chest, women’s 100 back, men’s 100 back

Finals: Friday, July 29 – 8pm ET

  • Women’s 400 free (finals), Men’s 400 free (finals), Women’s 100 breaststroke (finals), Men’s 100 breaststroke (finals), Women’s 100 backstroke (finals), Men’s 100 backstroke (finals)

Prelims: Saturday, July 30 – 12 p.m. ET

  • Women 200 IM, men 200 IM, women 50 free, men 50 free

Distance events on Saturday Saturday, July 30 – 5:07 p.m. ET

  • Women 1500 free, men 800 free

Finals: Saturday, July 30 – 8pm ET

  • Women 200 IM (finals), Men 200 IM (finals), Women 50 free (finals), Men 50 free (finals)

Comments are closed.