Senator Marshall introduces legislation to ban PPP loans for abortion providers

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW) – Senator Roger Marshall is working to ensure that abortion providers cannot apply for PPP loans.

Sen. Roger Marshall (R-Kan.) says he and Congressman Greg Murphy (NC-3) introduced the Abortion Providers Loan Elimination Act, which requires Planned Parenthood partners to repay $80 million in paycheck protection program loans that they have requested and received. He said it would also ensure that Planned Parenthood members and other abortion providers remain ineligible for future funding and direct the Small Business Administration’s inspector general to investigate how the national organization was able to obtain funds from the program.

“The Paycheck Protection Program was created to provide much-needed government support to struggling small businesses at the height of the coronavirus pandemic. Like most Americans, I was outraged to learn that Planned Parenthood partners tricked the system and illegally received $80 million through the program,” Senator Marshall said. “I realize Americans don’t want their hard-earned tax dollars to fund abortions, and to the dismay of Planned Parenthood, our bill reclaims the money and investigates how that ever happened. As a physician who delivered thousands of babies in rural Kansas and now a U.S. Senator, I consider my efforts to protect the sacredness of life my most important work, and I am honored that my colleagues have joined this fight .”

According to Senator Marshall, when the COVID-19 pandemic broke out, the federal government created the PPP, which was meant to help small businesses. He said at the height of the pandemic, the Planned Parenthood Federation of America requested and received millions of dollars in PPP funds.

“Abortion providers have absolutely nothing to do with receiving PPP loans. That Planned Parenthood received credit through PPP at all is scandalous. The money they received could have been used to save your favorite restaurant or corner shop, but instead Planned Parenthood took that money and used it to kill the unborn child. I’m proud to join Senator Marshall in righting this wrong and specifically banning Planned Parenthood and other abortion providers from ever receiving these credits again,” said Rep. Murphy.

In May 2020, Marshall announced that the SBA had notified 39 Planned Parenthood partners that they were indeed ineligible for the PPP loans, which totaled over $80 million. He said the SBA determined that the affiliates were ineligible for the loans under current affiliation rules and that the money should be returned. According to the latest data, seven affiliates have returned the money so far, but the remaining 31 have kept the money despite receiving notification that the funds were wrongly received. On March 23, he said three of Planned Parenthood’s 31 partners applied for and received a second round of credit for a total of $4.8 million in additional funding.

“National Right to Life is grateful for the leadership of Senator Roger Marshall and Congressman Greg Murphy in passing legislation to eliminate loans to abortion providers. It is inexcusable that the country’s largest abortion provider, Planned Parenthood, continues to take federal dollars under the paycheck protection program when they are ineligible. This legislation will prevent Planned Parenthood from taking advantage of the pandemic to supplement its income,” said Jennifer Popik, JD, director of the Federal Legislation for National Right to Life Committee.

According to Marshall, the Abortion Providers Loan Elimination Act will amend the Paycheck Protection Program to bar Planned Parenthood and other abortion providers from receiving PPP loans and take back $80 million of funds received. He said he led the bill in the 116th Congress, representing Kansas’ first congressional district.

So far Marshall, Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (Ken.) and U.S. Senators John Barrasso (Wy.), Marsha Blackburn (Tenn.), John Boozman (Ark.), Mike Braun (In.), Bill Cassidy (LA ), Kevin Cramer (ND), Mike Crapo (ID), Steve Daines (Mont.), Deb Fischer (Neb.), Bill Hagerty (Tenn.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (Miss.), Jim Inhofe (Okla.) , John Kennedy (LA), James Lankford (Okla.), Cynthia Lummis (Wy.), Jerry Moran (Can.), Rob Portman (OH), Jim Risch (ID), Mike Rounds (SD), Marco Rubio (Fla .) , Rick Scott (Fla.), John Thune (SD), Thom Tillis (NC), and Roger Wicker (Miss.) have joined the bill.

“The Paycheck Protection Program was established with the intention of helping small businesses that have been struggling during the pandemic. However, bad actors like Planned Parenthood have received illegitimate credit through the program. We applaud dr. Marshall and Dr. Murphy for them to stand up for Americans, who are overwhelmingly opposed to using taxpayer money for abortions, and solve that problem by introducing legislation that specifically prohibits abortion providers like Planned Parenthood from continuing to receive those funds,” Jessica said Anderson, Executive Director of Heritage Action for America.

According to Marshall, the House of Representatives so far have included Rick Allen (GA-12), Brian Babin (TX-36), Jim Banks (IN-03), Andy Biggs (AZ-05), Gus Bilirakis (FL-12), Dan Bishop (NC -09), Lauren Boebert (CO-03), Mike Bost (IL-12), Kevin Brady (TX-08), Ken Buck (CO-04), Ted Budd (NC-13), Michael Burgess (TX-26 ), Kat Cammack (FL-03), Michael Cloud (TX-27), Rick Crawford (AR-01), Jeff Duncan (SC-03), Pat Fallon (TX-04), Michelle Fischbach (MN-07), Cuck Fleischmann (TN-03), C. Scott Franklin (FL-15), Russ Fulcher (ID-01), Bob Gibbs (OH-07), Bob Good (VA-05), Louie Gohmert (TX-01), Garrett Graves (LA-06), Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Michael Guest (MS-03), Andy Harris (MD-01), Yvette Herrell (NM-02), Jody Hice (GA-10), Clay Higgins (LA-03), Ashley Hinson (IA-01), Bill Huizenga (MI-02), Ronny Jackson (TX-13), Jim Jordan (OH-04), Mike Kelly (PA-16), Trent Kelly (MS -01), Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Julia Letlow (LA-05), Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-03), Tracey Mann (KS-01), Brian Mast (FL-18), Marianne Miller-Meeks (IA -0 2), Alex Mooney (WV-02), Ralph Norman (SC-05), Steven Palazzo (MS-04), Scott Perry (PA-10), Bill Posey (FL-08), Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14) , Mike Rogers (AL-03), John Rose (TN-06), Matthew Rosendale (MT-AL), David Rouzer (NC-07), John Rutherford (FL-04), Pete Sessions (TX-17), Greg Steube (FL-17), Ann Wagner (MO-02), Jackie Walorski (IN-02), Michael Waltz (FL-06), Randy Weber (TX-14), Bruce Westerman (AK-04) and Roger Williams ( TX-25 ) signed the bill.

Copyright 2021 WIBW. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.