AAOS recognizes member with William W. Tipton Jr., MD, Leadership Award

April 16, 2022

1 minute read

We could not process your request. Please try again later. If this issue persists, please contact [email protected]

Andrew W. Gurman, MD, FAAOS, received the 2022 William W. Tipton Jr., MD, Leadership Award from the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons, according to a press release.

“Andy, through his effective leadership as President of the AMA, forever changed the profession of medicine for the better for surgeons and physicians, while fostering and maintaining our proper focus on the patients we serve,” Orthopedist Casey Jo Humbyrd, MD, FAAOS, said in the publication.

Andrew W Gurman

Andrew W Gurman

Gurman has been a leader and advocate for organized medicine for more than 40 years and is one of only two orthopedic surgeons to serve as President of the AMA. During his AMA presidency, Gurman testified against proposed mergers of several large insurance companies that would have created problems for doctors.

He also has private practice in Altoona, Pennsylvania, specializing in hand surgery, and is a member of the AAOS delegation to the AMA.

“DR. Gurman’s demeanor and passion for ensuring patients remain the medical profession’s top priority is no secret,” Michael Suk, MD, JD, MPH, MBA, FACS, FAAOS, Chief Medical Officer, Geisinger System Services said in the press release. “He brings together many voices from diverse backgrounds and finds clarity in the advocacy agenda that could encompass any specialty for the purpose of patient care.”

Prior to his role as AMA President, Gurman was Speaker of the Pennsylvania House of Delegates and elected Speaker of the AMA House of Delegates. He uses his more than 15 years as chairman at the state and national levels to mentor junior physicians who advance to leadership positions in the AMA and in its state and professional societies, according to the press release.

The William W. Tipton Jr., MD, Leadership Award honors AAOS members who have demonstrated outstanding leadership that has benefited “the orthopedic community, patients and/or the American public,” according to the press release. This award honors William W. Tipton Jr., MD, a former Executive Vice President of AAOS.

“DR. Tipton was an early mentor to me when I first became involved with the American Medical Association, and I am incredibly honored and humbled to be the recipient of the AAOS Tipton Leadership Award for Service,” Gurman said. To be recognized by my peers for the work I have done in organized medicine for doctors and our patients is meaningful.”

Comments are closed.